ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Lexus Navigation

Old 07-29-16, 08:16 AM
mss1234
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lexus Navigation

I have ES 350 2016 with built in navigation. I have been using it for past three months. In my experience
Good:
Screen is bright, even in sunlight.
Voice guidance is loud and clear, and it prompts on time.
On Screen Map display is very good, and split screen feature is helpful.

Bad:
-- POI database is outdated. Couple of weeks ago, I searched for Subway on one of our trip, and it took us to a house. On other occasion, it took us to a Staples store, which was closed three years ago.
-- Route mapping is also not efficient in many cases compared with Google Maps or Waze. Many a time, it will take us via a longer route.
-- There is no way to mute the voice guidance volume. there is a volume button on the screen, but it doesn't do any thing. (on camry, it has vol +/- on screen button)
--Entering an address is a pain using joystick, and even if you use voice entry, half of the time, it can't fathom the street names. (may be it only understands Japanese English).
-- no easy way to view turn by turn navigation instruction ( or at least i dont know how to ).

What are your experiences?

(in a way, the whole Multimedia system and interface on Lexus is poor and clunky, IMHO. I have expected better. I will list out the issues on some other day. )
Old 07-29-16, 08:44 AM
lesz
Lead Lap

Received 1,010 Likes on 691 Posts

Originally Posted by mss1234

Bad:
-- POI database is outdated. Couple of weeks ago, I searched for Subway on one of our trip, and it took us to a house. On other occasion, it took us to a Staples store, which was closed three years ago.