ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Switching over to Toyota service department now

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-15, 11:25 AM
Universe93
Pit Crew

Received 20 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Switching over to Toyota service department now

I know there are other threads, but my friends kept asking so posted this on here in case other people are still wondering.

I just got back from my Lexus dealership and paid $197 for the 20k service (synthetic oil change and tire rotation). This is beyond ridiculous! I paid somewhere around $85 for the 15k service which includes tire rotation.

I am all about maintenance of anything mechanical, the house, etc, but this is like throwing money down the toilet and flushing it! I will be checking Toyota for the 25k service. Maintenance on the Lexus isn't rocket science.
Old 01-02-15, 12:53 PM
lesz
Lead Lap

Received 1,010 Likes on 691 Posts

I've been driving Lexus vehicles for over 10 years. Other than warranty repairs, I've been using the local Toyota dealer for other work.

The cost of work at the Toyota dealer is generally 1/2 or less what the Lexus dealer charges. For example, a full synthetic oil change for my ES at the Toyota dealer using the same oil and filter that the Lexus dealer uses costs around $71.

Several years ago, the AC line on my GX developed a leak. The Lexus dealer wanted to replace the entire line at a cost of around $1800. The Toyota dealer quoted me $800 for the same job, but the Toyota service adviser suggested that the leak could be taken care by only replacing the fitting where the line was leaking. They replaced the fitting (and stopped the leak) for around $200.

Experiences and cost comparisons like these have convinced me that using the Lexus service department is only wasting lots of money.
Old 01-02-15, 03:40 PM
renegad44
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts