Dash speaker upgrade DIY build log

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-14, 11:18 PM
khanhfat
Driver School Candidate

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Dash speaker upgrade DIY build log

Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting here. Like everyone said, the premium audio sucks and even Mark Levinson system have problems. I want to keep the car as stock as possible to keep the warranty and will do a full build later on when I have more time. I'm not good with cutting wood and make nice wiring so this guide is just "lazy build" to get a better sound from stock amp. I mainly listen to jazz vocal and some main stream music so having big sub system installed is not needed for me. The front doors speaker midbass really put out some bass for a premium system. I will deaden the doors next to bring out the full potential of these midbass.

After doing some research on Parts Express, I decided to go with these 3" full range drivers from Tang Band . W3 - 1364sa I went ahead and get 3 to replace the center midrange as well. Replacing center speaker is not nescessary since the output for center channel is quite low so only when I put my ears close to it then I can hear the center . I just want to replace it just incase it gets distortion when I crank loud.
https://www.parts-express.com/tang-b...river--264-844

The problem with stock wiring is the harness needs some work so I decided to use some staples and solder it to the wires and surprisingly, it fits perfectly in the harness. The harness pin is quite small so this is the only solution I could find after a day of thinking what would fit.

Next step is to make a baffle and secure the speaker in the stock location. I went to hobby lobby and found some thin wood pieces that is thin enough and easy to cut. I only have a dremel with me so that is all I use to cut it. The reason I can't use MDF is I have no tools to cut and they're too thick. So I put down the stock speaker and trace the shape of the frame and cut.