Paint Not What I expected

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-15, 03:21 PM
esiedell
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Not What I expected

To preface, I am by no means a car expert, so bear with me

About five months ago, I bought a used 2008 ES 350 at Park Place Grapevine here in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. The car had about 45k miles when I bought it and I have enjoyed both it and the buying/customer support experience.

However, there's a problem. This car, per the dealership, had never been in an accident of any kind. It had a clear carfax, maintenance records, etc. However, when looking at the car one day, the sun hit the bumper just right and I saw the problem: the bumper had obviously been resprayed. I looked more closely, and there is chipping near the parking sensors and a bit of over-spray on the radiator.

I can't believe that I missed this, but is there anything I can do now? Park Place has always been great with any questions I've had, but do you guys think they'll do anything about this? Picture below.
Attached Thumbnails Paint Not What I expected-img_4063.jpg  
Old 11-14-15, 07:17 PM
12jimmyjam
Advanced

Received 52 Likes on 43 Posts

Carfax is really just a tool for dealers anymore. There's a ton of stuff that it doesn't pick up that other services do. Sucks.

I'd approach or email the general manager to see if they will fix it if it's poor painting. If they won't work with you, I'd threaten to leave crumby reviews and then follow through if they don't help.
Old 11-14-15, 11:20 PM
John U
Intermediate

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I saw the same thing earlier this week on my friends Lexus. They failed to remove the sensors when painting so the paint peeled away around them like your's show. His estimate to fix is $500.
Old 11-15-15, 05:40 AM
jagtoes
Racer

Received 56 Likes on 52 Posts