ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Rattling/Growling noise while AC is on

Old 08-10-14, 09:28 PM
okmijn
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rattling/Growling noise while AC is on

I'm a newbie to this site and this is my first post.

I've recently experienced a rattling(vibration)/growling noise around the engine when the car is running with the AC on. The sound gets louder when I put the car in drive and it goes away when I turn the AC off. The sound seems to be coming from underneath or next to the engine(right of engine when sitting in the car/left of engine when standing over the hood facing the engine)

Has anyone else experienced this? if so, how did you go about it?

I took it to Lexus and they told me its likely the water pump. The car drives great and I'm not noticing any leaks(water or otherwise) underneath the car.

I had to park the car for 6 weeks while on a military exercise, and dont recall hearing the noise before going away. could 6 weeks of inactivity on the engine have anything to do with this?

Any help is appreciated,
Old 08-11-14, 04:49 AM
nevernu
Instructor

Received 112 Likes on 100 Posts

what year, milage?
Old 08-11-14, 10:00 AM
oldgrump
Pole Position

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts

Because the noise disappears when you turn the AC "off" (the AC compressor is declutched and is not being driven by the engine) it is very possible that the noise is being generated by the AC compressor, or possibly the AC compressor drive pulley bearing. The drive pulley and the bearing will be rotating any time the engine is running, but with the AC compressor declutched there is no real load on the pulley (and the bearing), and the bearing is simply freewheeling and may not generate the noise. When the AC is "on" are you getting "cold" air from the system?
Old 08-11-14, 05:53 PM
okmijn
Driver School Candidate

Its a 2007 with 94k miles (151k Km)

The AC works great.