ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Does this sound normal?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-14, 07:46 PM
NoiseFree
Intermediate

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Does this sound normal?

So I went in for my 48,000 Km service yesterday at 46,000 Km. to my Lexus dealer.
Yes I am a light driver. It's a 2007 ES-350.

I just wanted to touch base here and find out if this sounds reasonable.

The service cost $521.86
Labor = 373.80
Parts = 84.02
Tax = 60.04

Nothing special, the usual.
-replaced a/c filter
-replaced smart key battery
-replaced brake fluid
-replaced internal trunk release ( a mandatory recall issue)
-4 wheel brake service
-oil and filter stuff
-checked battery
-rotated tires

I was expecting in the usual $370 range, so a bit more than expected.

But there was a bigger surprise.

When I picked up the car they told me I had a leaking water pump.
They said I would have to re-schedule another service appt. to fix it and it would cost $510.38 to install it.

Does this sound normal from your experience?

I haven't had any issues with the car to date.
Old 06-14-14, 08:29 PM
oldgrump
Pole Position

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts

What the heck is a "4 wheel brake service"?? Oh, I know, they visually checked the brake pads for thickness when they accomplished the brake fluid change and and rotated the tires. At your cost for parts they sure didn't replace any pads. The trunk inside handle takes almost zero time......mine was replaced at no charge a few months ago. I'm guessing that the labour charge of $373.80 would be for 3 hours......how they can justify 3 hours for what they've accomplished is beyond me? It's a rip, in my opinion. But that's how the dealers make their money.