ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Tire Question on leased 09 ES350.

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-10, 09:22 AM
atomarchio
Pit Crew

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Tire Question on leased 09 ES350.

I am 18 months into a 36 month lease on a 2009 ES350 Pebble Beach Edition.

I tool the car to a local oil change place and they told me the tires are down to 6/32.

They told me there is no way the tires I currently have on the car are going to last another 18 months. Especially through another winter and a half.

Should I just bite the bullet and buy new tires when they get down to 3/32 or try and wait it out until the end of the lease?

If I wait it out until the end, will Lexus force me to buy new tires when I turn in the car at the end of the lease?

Please let me your your thoughts or previous experiences with this. Thanks.
Old 06-18-10, 09:38 AM
flowrider
Lexus Champion

Received 1,943 Likes on 1,369 Posts

I have no experience with leasing, but the quote below is from a member who does:

Originally Posted by Dave Mac
You are right the Lexus lease calls for 5 matching tires with I believe 4/32" if tread remaining.

Dave Mac
I do, however, have experience with good judgement. Why would someone who can afford a Lexus try to go on the cheap with such an important safety item Buy a new set of tires now, It's the right thing to do

Lou
Old 06-18-10, 10:03 AM
garsarno
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Earlier this month, my Kumho tires needed replacing , esp the fronts. Tire store rep measured the treads and came up with 5/32" - 6/32" average. Kumho prorated the tires and I got a new set of 4 for $280 ($129 on Tire Rack) for their Ecsta Platinum tires not including balancing or installation.
Old 06-18-10, 10:21 AM
EJC
Instructor

Received 87 Likes on 61 Posts

Originally Posted by atomarchio
I am 18 months into a 36 month lease on a 2009 ES350 Pebble Beach Edition.