ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Need advice with new Lexus purchase - How?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-07, 07:46 AM
JohnJ
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice with new Lexus purchase - How?

OK - - I've decided to buy an ES 350 but I require the backup sensor option on the car (I've only got one eye).... Nav won't do it for me....

Long story short - I know the colors and options but the dealer is going to have to do a search to find the car.

He wants me to 'close' before he does the search - - I've never done this before - always said I like that one, give me a price....

My question is what can I expect when I 'close"?? I suppose that we are going to place an order for a car that doesn't exist, he will give me the amount that my trade is worth and we'll negotiate a price for the new car - - then if he finds a car that meets all my minimum requirements (but probably has some equipment that I wouldn't necessarily order) he'll call me to adjust the price before he actually brings the car into the dealership....

Is that correct or am I way off base???

Thanks

JohnJ
Old 01-19-07, 07:55 AM
ES350Bob
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by JohnJ
He wants me to 'close' before he does the search - - I've never done this before - always said I like that one, give me a price....

Thanks

JohnJ
My suggestion is find another dealer who will not require you to close before doing a search for the vehicle you wish.
Old 01-19-07, 08:04 AM
LexBob2
Lexus Champion

Received 137 Likes on 111 Posts

Originally Posted by ES350Bob
My suggestion is find another dealer who will not require you to close before doing a search for the vehicle you wish.