ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Why Lexus is losing the customer service war on the ES350

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-06, 06:57 PM
wanderer99
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Why Lexus is losing the customer service war on the ES350

I've noticed an increase in ES350 owners basically giving up in frustration with issues with their cars. I could list a bunch of names, but you can see from the posts who these people are. Unfortunately, I'm one of them. I've done my best to hang in there as long as possible, but I think I'm done now.

I'm a Snr IT Professional who works for a very large financial institution and basically I solve difficult problems for a living. I have a team of people who help me do this. I have to make the seemingly impossible happen - alot - and often deal with vendors who promise the world, but deliver basically nothing. It's my job to pull the pieces together and make everyone happy, and make sure things are reliable and working.

I think Lexus is losing the customer service war on the ES350 for a few reasons:
- Lexus know what the issues are. Their dealers raise the issues with them. We know that they know what the issues are.
- they simply can't provide working fixes for these issues (wind noise)
- the fixes they do provide don't work (trans TSIB and trans replacement)
- they are not delivering a quality vehicle anymore, compared to previous similar vehicles
- they're often not delivering on their promise (implied or otherwise) of superior customer service

To me this is like a vendor that promises the world, but delivers almost nothing. It happens quite a lot. They trade on their reputation, but their product is crap, and the support just isn't there or worse - its a complete nightmare. To me, this is a lot like the ES350 and what's happening right now.

So to win the customer service war, you have to:
- offer superior service for your sometimes problematic product.