ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

2000 ES300 Knock Sensors Replaced, Running Rough, Multiple Codes, Troubleshooting

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-16, 06:11 AM
tony2000LE
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 ES300 Knock Sensors Replaced, Running Rough, Multiple Codes, Troubleshooting

I am a new member to the Forum, but want to thank everyone for the great threads on here and helpful advice! I bought a used 2000 Lexus es300 PE with 250,000 miles on it for a great deal. This car is from the West coast and was well maintained. I am not a mechanic, but have done several repairs on other vehicles myself with a greater level of difficulty that most would have passed on. Anyway here is my issue.... Upon puchasing the car I had a random Solid Check Engine/Trac cel for about a couple weeks randomly popping up making the car idle rough and sending it into limp mode, I took it to the parts store, ran the scan tool and got a p1135 Air/Fuel sensor code B1 S1. I replaced the front sensor, cleared the code and this took care of it. I also replaced the battery a couple months later and had relatively no issues except for a fairly noticeable gas smell from the exhaust that has been there since buying the car. It ran pretty good so I left it alone. So about a year passed and I'm on my way home from work, solid check engine/Trac light comes on and the car goes into limp mode not letting it shift info 4 gear and disabling the OD. I go to the parts store again, scan the code, and get....

* P0330 (Confirmed) Knock Sensor 2 B2 code.

* C1201, C0226, C0236, C0246, C0256, C1223

*Most of these codes are a separate issue related to the ABS system!