ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

1996 ES300 Rear Growling / Rumbling Noise / General Repair Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-14, 09:47 PM
ckwasi92
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 ES300 Rear Growling / Rumbling Noise / General Repair Questions

Hello! I'm kind of new to the forum, I've looked around a bit but never posted at all. I'm hoping some of you guys could lend some advice. I bought a 1996 ES300 about 5 weeks ago for $1300. Honestly, it' my first car. It had around 169,700 miles on it, and now has over 171k as I've driven it quite a bit and it seems to run fine. Of course, being an 18 year old car it has several issues. The previous owner said his two teenage girls had been driving it, so they probably drove it rough. I TRY not to, though I am a new driver.

I've gotten new tires, it needs a timing belt / water pump change (doing that in two weeks), definitely needs new all suspension (creaks, moans, real bumpy and rattly), the power steering leaks and I need to put some in every 1-2 weeks (previous owner said he changed all the hoses, so it's probably the pump), and some very minor body work. The one issue that seemed the most urgent to me other than the timing belt was this growling / grumbling / rumbling noise coming from my rear right. I think it might have started after I turned a little sharp out of a parking lot and that wheel may have dropped off the curb and hit the road sort of hard, but maybe it was already like that and I didn't notice, I'm not sure! It's sort of on and off, and it is worse on rougher roads. I kind of *think* it almost gets better when I some weight off of it by turning somewhat sharply, but it's iffy. After doing some research, I figured it was a wheel bearing.