ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

How much for these maintenance items?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-11, 02:54 PM
1999ES300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much for these maintenance items?

Hi, I am a new driver. Just bought a 1999 ES300.
The mechanic who did the pre-purchase check told me that the car was very good, only needing these maintenance items, and he offered the price behind. (I might have mixed up the prices, but the total is the same)

- Trans service with new pan gasket ($88)
- Brake fluid flush ($88)
- Power Steering Fluid Flush ($150)

Is he asking for fair prices?

I am not ready to do DIY yet.
Old 01-05-11, 03:04 PM
1999ES300
Driver School Candidate

Any reply would be appreciated! If you need more info please ask. Thanks!
Old 01-05-11, 03:39 PM
88Legend
Pole Position

It is good to learn how to do that stuff yourself. I could probably do all that myself for around 60 or so using OEM fluids. With all of the reading I did on the internet on the Acura legend forum and Lexus forum I learned how to do all of these things. The DIYs here are pretty good.

It sounds like you mixed up the power steering fluid price with the trans fluid change price. But like you said, it comes out to the same total.

The are similar to the dealership prices I believe. Its not bad, but you are paying mostly for labor.

BTW welcome to the site.

Last edited by 88Legend; 01-05-11 at 07:07 PM. Reason: typo...
Old 01-05-11, 07:09 PM
Coulter
Intermediate

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts