ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Advice pls for newbie purchaser 1992 ES300

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-06, 11:03 PM
Walnut
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Advice pls for newbie purchaser 1992 ES300

Hey all,

Can you tell me what's the deal with rear windows that bang on the way down? Both sides do this.

There is only one key. It has a remote function on it. How do I get another key and how much will I need to spend? I'm also concerned with this talk about master and valet keys - is this a factor with the '92? What does it mean?

A little bit of oil burn at startup. I'm concerned about the sludge scare. The 92-93 use the 3VZ-FE engine, so am I ok with this? (120K miles)

And finally...I've been driving a Volvo 740 for 7 years. They are fantastic cars that people are always fixing. Please tell me I'm not setting myself up for more self-abuse and endless expense here. How much should I expect to spend on annual maintenance? The car is exceptionally clean and well maintained it seems. Hopefully only one careful lady driver...

Thanks in advance!

California Walnut
Old 11-02-06, 10:10 AM
Pheonix
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Cool

There are forum sponsors here that are dealers that will give a better deal cutting keys than in person. Check them out.
Any engine that does not have it's old changed often enough will roast it's oil period. There are an endless list of ways to get rid of sludge. I recommend running it around with some seafoam in it & changing the oil, or doing a diesel/kerosene flush right when you change the oil. Look up past directions on those.