ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Paint Chips

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-06, 03:15 PM
greylady91
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Chips

I am new to this Lexus Forum. I have a 2005 ES330 - Silver. I am very disappointed with the amount of paint chips that are on my front bumper, hood and fenders. When I took it in for service, my dealer told me it was because I do too much highway driving (which was the reason I wanted the car in the first place.) Is this something I have to live with? Right now I have 17,000 miles on the car. It is 14 months old. Are other owners having this problem?
Old 01-29-06, 03:43 PM
W. David
Pole Position

I have the same problem with my car.....you don't have to live with,and I don't plan on it.
I plan on getting the hood repainted this spring, and will likely have a clear bra put on so I don't have to deal with this again (already had it done once!).

Like yourself, I do a great deal of highway driving, and other than a clear bra, there's no way around getting the occaisional stone chip......while I don't necessarily like the sometimes visible line left with a clear bra, it certainly looks better than a hood filled with stone chips....
Old 01-29-06, 04:18 PM
greylady91
Driver School Candidate

David,

Thanks for your quick response. So, should I assume that there is no defect in the paint ??? it almost seems as if it should be more durable. I have been thinking about repainting and applying the clear bra. Would you suggest having this done at the Lexus dealer or an auto body shop?
Old 01-29-06, 05:50 PM
maniax
Lexus Test Driver

the paint on newer cars totally sux. They put more electronics in newer cars but cut costs in places like the paint. You should see the amount of complaints from 2000-2003 maxima owners!
Old 01-29-06, 06:24 PM
W. David
Pole Position