CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

A Tale of 3 License Plates LEDs - Comparison

Old 01-24-14, 04:50 PM
whlkev
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default A Tale of 3 License Plates LEDs - Comparison

I'm still new to the CT200h forum but back on the 3GS forum, I was always on a quest to find the perfect LED/lights replacement for our car: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-...t-194-led.html

I cannot explain or understand why Lexus chose to skip LED for the CT200h license plate (finally came to their senses and added on the 2014)and for MY2013 or earlier models, we are out of luck. It became my quest to find the one with the closest match to OEM color/brightness (using my GS as comparison) I think I found just the perfect LED.

I usually would post a DIY along with the pictures but since all the instructions are in the manual, anyone wants to swap these can just refer to it.

Here are the 3 I've tested
1) JLC Lighting 5-SMD W5W Wedge

2) Luxury Mods 3SMD Flank

3) Vleds 5K WHITE 4 LED 2 WATT HP FLANK

The LuxuryMods one is very popluar on CL for the CT if you do a search, since it came with a kit if you order online. I was running these for a while and the light output is great, but these were a bit too blue compared to OEM. These would be perfect for someone with 6000k light setup and prefer this look

Close up

Then after a bit of research, I found the Vleds 5000k that are brighter and extremely white. See for yourself

compared with the JLC, which is way dim in comparison, probably because of the 360 degree design that scatters the light everywhere

look at how bright it is compared to the LuxuryMods

now you can see what I mean by it being too blue

this is OEM on my GS, it's ridiculously bright/awesome on a white car

comparison - OEM vs. VLEDS