CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

Question about MPG

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-12, 10:08 AM
tonyjin23
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about MPG

hey guys, I'm fairly new to this forum and to this car, and i've done some reading around in this area, and have found that most people are actually getting around 40-45 MPG reads on their ODO. I am a fairly careful driver, i dont tend to full throttle the car very often and i drive responsibly, however, i am only reading about 34-38 MPG on average on my ODO. What could be the reason for this? and a solution possibly would be useful! Thank you for your time.

Oh and i drive suburban areas most of the time, i live in SoCal. So not many hills or an insane amount of traffic.
Old 12-26-12, 12:40 AM
Trexus

Received 38 Likes on 27 Posts

Just give it some time. After 5,000 miles you'll notice the mpg's will go up and stay consistent. Welcome and congrats on getting the CT. It's a great car, enjoy your CT and happy driving...
Old 12-26-12, 07:23 AM
tonyjin23
Driver School Candidate

Thank you so much!
Old 12-26-12, 11:24 AM
richardbyo
Driver School Candidate

My 2012 CT gets 36-38 in town and 43 when traveling. Needless to say, that's not quite what I was expecting. The service department says that the problem is that I'm using regular gas, not premium. Well, that's also not quite what I was counting on.
Old 12-26-12, 12:28 PM
LosPollosH
Driver School Candidate

You don't need premium. I only know what the forums say but the consensus is that PRIUS's do not use Premium --period!

Our CT200h is basically a Prius with bigger wheels and worse aerodynamics.
Old 12-27-12, 11:40 AM
hdave
Driver

Originally Posted by richardbyo
My 2012 CT gets 36-38 in town and 43 when traveling. Needless to say, that's not quite what I was expecting. The service department says that the problem is that I'm using regular gas, not premium. Well, that's also not quite what I was counting on.