CL of Southern California For Southern California Lexus owners to come together.

San Gabriel River Trail-Warning!

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-12, 12:25 PM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts
Default San Gabriel River Trail-Warning!

This was posted in the So. Cal section of the bike forum yesterday: Any of you riders starting up in this area, be alert.

Originally Posted by hecbom
need to let everyone know that a section of this Bike Trail is not safe so let me tell you all what happened yesterday Saturday 2nd. First of all, I have been riding this trail for more than two years starting at the Pico Rivera Golf Course to Azusa so I can go up hwy39. I usually do Christal Lake or the GMR loop back down to the Golf Course parking lot. Yesterday om my way back from Christal Lake I met up with a rider past Valley Blvd heading south so we started to chat about some knuckle head who was not keeping a straight line but instead was swinging right to left. No sooner I said that we looked in front of us and two Neanderthals wearing hoodies and bandannas covering there face were blocking our path. Upon seeing this and quickly preparing for the worst, I drew a line for this guy saying to myself if I hit this punk hard enough he might fall and I can recover and hit the pedals but instead I turned towards his left faking him to think that I was trying to go between him and his buddy but at the last minute I darted to his right. I barely escaped but as I looked to my right to see what was going on with the other rider, the two punks tried to block him and knock him off his bike. One of the punks kicked the rider in the knee, knocking his water bottle of the bike as well as his bike pump. What freaked me out was as soon as he was kicked the guy pulled a pump shotgun at the other rider and that is when I freaked out! For a minute I though we were both dead but fortunately the rider hit the pedals in pain and we both got away from these two. I pulled my cell phone