Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Water in Gas Tank

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-16, 12:09 PM
tektek678
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Water in Gas Tank

Hello! And thank you for all your help. Let me preface this by saying I am not really knowledgeable about cars. I am a professional computer repair man, as well as a general handyman (I repair ACs and washing machines and such) so I am not at all afraid to get my hands dirty. I just don't even know how to start.

Last Saturday evening, I was driving my elderly mother's 2000 Lexus gs300 (94k miles). Not 194, literally 94 thousand miles. This car was purring and driving better than newer cars I drive. But it was super low on gas, so I took it to fill it up on the way out at the local Texico. The pump was SO SLOW, I basically got half a tank or so (of premium, only premium fuel for this car) and decided I would just fill up again later. I attempted to accelerate into traffic, and the car just completely died on me. Like I had no gas in the car at all. I coasted it into a parking lot not a quarter mile down the road and had it towed to the local repair shop.

What happened with the repair man is a long story, but I lost ALL faith in him. I finally had to demand he just drain the tank and lo and behold, there was A LOT of water in the tank. So he pumped the system, used some magic sauce to "clear" out all of the water, then filled it with premium and sent me on my way. Texico acknowledged the problem (bad tank, number of people had problems that rainy night, they fixed the problem, going to pay me for the repair and tow, the end). The picture at the end was a gallon they drained out of the tank. You gan see how bad it was.