Driving a F150 XLT Rental car for the week. - Club Lexus Forums

Driving a F150 XLT Rental car for the week.

Old 02-08-16, 04:14 PM   #1
evident
Lead Lap

Default Driving a F150 XLT Rental car for the week.

I have very little experience w/ pickup trucks besides from the beater ones i rented for a few hours to move stuff.

I landed in MSY airport and they gave me an option of a 2016 malibu, 2016 fusion, or a 2016 F150 for the same price. decided to give the F150 XLT a try.

driving from new orleans to gulfport on I10 i got about 22MPG on the highway going 80 mph. everything about this car is so comfortable and while the materials arent as nice as Lexus, they seem to be built to withstand abuse (as it should!) This car gets better hwy gas mileage than my 07 RX350 AWD.

what really impressed me about the f150 and infuriates me about my IS350 is how awesome the navigation system is. it simply just works. no fumbling with the stupid mouse thing, just use the onscreen keyboard and enter in a partial destination and it will present you with the correct choices. it was almost as good as my standalone garmin or google maps. the audio interface is very good too. stereo sucks compared to my ML audio though. I've been really impressed with the MPG and car so far and looking forward to driving it for the rest of the week.

Last edited by evident; 02-08-16 at 07:53 PM.
evident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-16, 04:40 PM   #2
bitkahuna
resisting entropy

congrats for trying something different and keeping an open mind about a vehicle so different from your rx and is!

there's a reason ford sells some 50k+ of those a month! they're comfortable, quiet, smooth, extremely useful, and have most modern conveniences!

you're also right the interior is built for durability and utility (even with gloves on, seriously), over pure luxury. the top end models though are pretty nice inside!