Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Newbie question: New vs. used

Old 03-23-15, 09:22 PM
AkhilinMD
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie question: New vs. used

Hi guys;

Newbie here - I'm moving to the D.C. area and am looking to purchase a car.

My budget is $40,000. I have no idea what my user profile or commute time will be, except that I need to be able to carry 4 adults, 1 child in a car seat (4 year old) in relative comfort.

So, the question is this:

Should I get a used LS460 (I love the 2009 - 2012 models), or a new IS250/350? I love the interiors of the new IS', but have heard the 250 is under-powered. Also, can the IS carry the 4 adults, 1 child?

I'm also cross-shopping new BMW 3-series (320i or 328i).

Appreciate any feedback you can offer.
Old 03-23-15, 09:23 PM
Toys4RJill
Lexus Fanatic

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts

New car all the way
Old 03-23-15, 09:33 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 183 Likes on 142 Posts

with your requirement, you need a big car. with your budget, not enough for a new big car. so i say get a good used certified car

plus trying to stuff 4 adults and a kid in the IS is quite an insane act

and yes, 250 is quite underpowered imho
Old 03-23-15, 09:46 PM
doge
Formerly Bad Co

GS 350 F Sport
Old 03-23-15, 10:30 PM
msgs350
Pole Position

Received 196 Likes on 129 Posts

I would suggest a GX460 for 5 passengers. I can't imagine 4 adults plus 1 car seat being comfortable in any sedan, especially an IS.
Maybe you can negotiate for a used 2014 GX for around 40k.
Old 03-24-15, 12:12 AM
Fizzboy7
Lexus Test Driver

Received 152 Likes on 90 Posts

Consider an ES or GS, which have more room than an IS, but cost less than the LS. I'd look into leases for both, as programs are very aggressive for each.
FWIW, I currently have a new IS250 loaner and it has plenty of punch for everyday, NORMAL driving. If you want to race, then it's underpowered.