Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

CarMax Appraised my car, and I'm confused.

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-14, 08:33 PM
SaintNexus
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question CarMax Appraised my car, and I'm confused.

I've been leasing my 2012 Honda Accord SE since August 2012. My payments are $230.32 a month, and I still have 10 more payments to go. It has a payoff amount of $16,322.31.

I've driven 40,521 miles, and has some minor damages.

CarMax gave me an offer of $10,000 for my car. They said that they buy the car as is, and that I have to pay the remaining balance of the lease, which is another $2,300.

So, does this mean that from the $10,000 that they are offering, I have to pay the lease company $2,300, and I get the remaining $7,700?

Or, do I have a balance of $16,322.21 plus the $2,300 remaining on the lease, and after I get the $10,000 from Carmax, I still owe Honda $8k?

I'm really confused about this, can someone please explain?
Old 10-20-14, 08:45 PM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 83 Likes on 82 Posts

Before your questions can be totally answered, first, how "minor" is the damage on the Accord? If it exceeds that allowed on the wear-and-tear clause, you might (?) owe a penalty on top of the other payoff expenses. Same with the mileage. An Accord leased in August of 2012 (26 months old) with 40,521 total miles would have roughly 1558 miles a month, or 18,702 miles a year. Bingo......you're probably over the yearly mileage limit, since most leasing contracts range allow somewhere from 10,000 to 15,000 miles a year. If you didn't purchase the extra mileage when first leased it (and you keep driving at the same rate), you will probably also have to pay a mileage when the lease contract is up....maybe even now if you pay it off early.

Last edited by mmarshall; 10-20-14 at 08:49 PM.
Old 10-20-14, 08:48 PM
RNM GS3
Lexus Test Driver

Received 62 Likes on 46 Posts