Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Non Lexus question

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-13, 07:48 AM
hoosier58
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Non Lexus question

I have mainly driven trucks over the years, which had traditional shocks instead of MacPherson struts. My daughter's car, a Tercel, seems to have blown out the top mount of a rear strut. I don't quite understand how the top mount is supposed to keep the shock shaft from moving up past that mount, but her's failed, and the top was riding about an inch high and clunking around.
I grabbed a strut/spring from another Tercel yesterday, but the color painted on the spring was different than the springs on the car.
I'm a garage door tech, and color codes are used on torsion springs to identify the wire size. I'm guessing automotive coils use a similar coding, but can't find a source to identify the colors. Can anyone help?
Thanks.
Old 09-18-13, 12:47 PM
k7q
Instructor

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts

You mean the whole spring is a different color? Might be lowering springs.

I think you should be fine if you got the shock off the same year car.
Old 09-18-13, 01:43 PM
hoosier58
Pole Position

Actually, there is a stripe of paint on one coil. The springs that were are the car have a blue stripe, and the one I got yesterday at a U-pull has a kind of orange-brown stripe. I know that I should really have matched springs. I'm trying to decide whether to go buy the other one, or swap my blue striped spring onto the replacement strut. The replacement was from a Tercel 2 years newer, but of the same generation. My daughter's is the completely stripped one, but the other one had more options, so probably weighs a little more. I'm guessing that the orage-brown striped spring is stiffer, but am trying to confirm it.
Old 09-23-13, 06:13 AM
SCstone
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts