Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Mechanical Engineering student curious about working for tuning shops

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-13, 05:14 PM
SparksLex
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mechanical Engineering student curious about working for tuning shops

I'm sure many people on this website work for their respective local tuning shops. I'm just curious - what are your requirements for hiring mechanics in your shops? Do you prefer those who typically go to trade schools, or do you hire automotive or mechanical engineers? Or do you hire people that have just worked on cars all their lives and know their stuff?

I'm a mechanical engineering student and while I love cars and motorcycles, I dont necessarily want to get an automotive engineering degree and feel that mechanical engineering is a safter bet (safer in terms of job availability in the overall engineering market), but I still enjoy working on cars, and would have no issue, say right out of college, spending a few years working on cars. Would you hire me for my love of cars and the little experience I have working on my motorcycle? I plan on working on my Lexus, but I just haven't had the opportunity to yet.

EDIT: Sorry, just realized this should be posted in the clubhouse.

Last edited by SparksLex; 04-16-13 at 05:14 PM. Reason: Wrong forum
Old 04-16-13, 07:09 PM
Carmaker1
Instructor

Received 130 Likes on 56 Posts

Originally Posted by SparksLex
I'm sure many people on this website work for their respective local tuning shops. I'm just curious - what are your requirements for hiring mechanics in your shops? Do you prefer those who typically go to trade schools, or do you hire automotive or mechanical engineers? Or do you hire people that have just worked on cars all their lives and know their stuff?