Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

My new M5 - review in the Alps and Autobahn

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-12, 06:51 AM
*Batman*
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Cool My new M5 - review in the Alps and Autobahn

We just got back from the European Delivery of our 2013 M5 Individual.

It was an epic trip:
  • 9 days
  • 1950 miles
  • 6 cities: Munich, Vienna, Salzburg, Zurich, Lucerne and Berne
  • 3 Alpine passes: GrossGlockner, Hahntennjoch, and Schillthorn.
  • Experience of pre and post-break in driving

For this group I will share my observations relative to my previous car – a 2012 550i M-Sport Dinan Stage 2 with the sportiest configuration (IAS, ARS, DDC, RWD and Michelin Pilot Super Sports). Also as context, I am a driver who enjoys a more digital driving experience. I have been a fan of EPS, IAS, ARS, DDC, etc. So I was fully ready for the innovations the M5 would throw at me and I had high expectations. I am glad to say my expectations were met and exceeded.

IMPRESSIONS OF THE M5

The sound is very sexy. There is a growl when you press the start button. During warm up the car sounds like a beast. In the Sportier settings the car sounds like that all the time. In Salzburg and Vienna I remember people would turn their heads every time I pressed the throttle. It is loud! The burbling on the downshifts sounds fantastic. This car sounds like what you expected a sports car to sound like when you were a kid, and it is inspiring.