Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

My "new" BMW 118d

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-10, 06:14 AM
DustinV
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My "new" BMW 118d

Hi guys,

Yesterday I picked up my "new" BMW 118d. It's actually a 2009 model and began as a demo car for a local BMW dealer. Eventually, it was put up on sale and I went for it because the price it was being sold at was practically a give-away. What also made the car so appealing was that it was one of those rare models equipped with an automatic transmission, which I wanted.

In mid-2009 I tested a BMW 118i sedan with a manual transmission. Although I am not very good with manual shifting, the car was a lot of fun. What I liked about it was the great handling (it's a BMW after all), zippy little engine (great sound by the way) and the styling, too, was very nice. I was hooked. This, despite me being a person who drives rather relaxed. I felt the 1 series was a great combination of sport, style and even comfort. It was also very roomy and had a large trunk. I could envision myself and my wife touring Europe in this car because of these qualities. I'm not getting any younger, too. Maybe I could enjoy something sporty and almost youth-oriented now rather than later. That was my reasoning for a BMW 1 series.

Now, many of you probably knew I was lusting after a Citroen C5, preferably a diesel in estate form. The moment I saw the C5 it was love at first sight. This car had everything I desired. Style, an extremely high-level of comfort, safety, roominess and above all was simply unbeatable in value-for-money.

So what happened?