Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Street-Legal Jet Powered VW Beetle!! CRAZY!!!

Old 05-03-06, 07:29 AM
Seize
Loves Snickerdoodles!

Received 68 Likes on 53 Posts
Default Street-Legal Jet Powered VW Beetle!! CRAZY!!!

Oh man, them fellaz on Monster Garage got nothin' on this...

This is a my street-legal jet car on full afterburner. The car has two engines: the production gasoline engine in the front driving the front wheels and the jet engine in the back. The idea is that you drive around legally on the gasoline engine and when you want to have some fun, you spin up the jet and get on the burner (you can start the jet while driving along on the gasoline engine). The car was built because I wanted the wildest street-legal ride possible. With this project, I was able to use some stuff I learned while getting my fancy engineering degree (I have a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University) to design the car without the distraction of how other people have done it in the past - because no one has. I don't know how fast the car will go and probably never will. The car was built to thrill me, not kill me. That doesn't stop me from the occasional blast on the highway though.

The car is licensed here in California. In California, new cars have bi-annual smog inspections so if you modify the engine, it is likely to fail the inspection and you won't be able to drive it on the street. There are some exempt engine modifications (ex. after-cat mufflers - big deal) but none that will allow you to add 1350 hp to a new car.