Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

does any one know anything about VW?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-06, 01:04 PM
ILOVEGIRLS
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default does any one know anything about VW?

i have a 99 VW jetta and its getting this code: P0411... 16795 Secondary Air Injection System Improper Flow Detected. how can i fix this?
Old 03-26-06, 01:42 PM
Seize
Loves Snickerdoodles!

Received 68 Likes on 53 Posts
Default ...

My friend that's a hardcore veedub enthusiast frequents this site,

www.vwvortex.com

Hopefully you can find the answer to your question there. I'm sure with the bulk of veedub heads on those boards you're bound to find someone that can help
Old 03-26-06, 02:55 PM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 83 Likes on 82 Posts

I'm not an expert on automotive computer codes but it sounds like a problem with the Mass Airflow Sensor ( MAS )...the device that detects the amount and density of the air ( partially determined by temperature and humidity ) flowing through the air intake system for the fuel injectors. It sends a signal to the main engine-control-computer to adjust the amount of fuel going into the injectors for the optimum air-fuel mixture for the driving conditions.....warmup, acceleration, transmission gear-shifting, easing off the throttle, etc.....
If the MAS is bad the engine will not start, warmup, or run properly. It will either be too lean or too rich a fuel mixture....or both.

Don't be surprised if you are getting computer-related problems with a Jetta......VW electronics border on being junk, though I know this is not a brand-new car here but a 7-year-old one.

Last edited by mmarshall; 03-26-06 at 02:59 PM.
Old 03-26-06, 09:00 PM
Stage3
Lexus Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts