Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Has anyone else noticed that some drivers do this?

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-05, 08:15 AM
diablo1
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone else noticed that some drivers do this?

I was driving from NH down to NYC yesterday, and this happened at least four different times: a BMW would approach me from behind, tailgate me for a minute or two, then peel out into the next lane and speed away from me doing like 90. It happened with one 3 series, a couple of 5's, and at least one 7 series.

I don't know if BMW drivers are just more aggressive in general, or if they needed to "prove" to themselves that their car is still better, or what. I am a pretty conservative driver, especially on the highways, so I wasn't about to try to catch up with them or race them or anything. Besides, I know my car is faster, especially vs. the 3 series.

But I was wondering - has this happened to anyone else? I thought it was pretty obnoxious. Apparently at BMW driving school, they teach you that safe highway following distance is one second.

Last edited by diablo1; 11-29-05 at 07:08 AM.
Old 11-28-05, 08:22 AM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 83 Likes on 82 Posts

While there are many good and safe BMW drivers, including some on CL, as a whole group I would rate them ( as I have posted several times on CL ) second only to Mustang V8 drivers in arrogance, egotism, and stupidity. But Mustang GT, Cobra, and SVT jocks are, without doubt, in general the worst bunch of drivers ( as a group ) that I have ever seen. They absolutely take the cake. The majority of teen-age and young adult traffic deaths in this area are with high-powered Mustangs and aggressive driving.
Old 11-28-05, 09:20 AM
3erbeatsIS
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by mmarshall