Build Threads Details on Club Lexus SC owner vehicles

Diary of an abused SC400

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-16, 05:36 PM
Crusher103
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Diary of an abused SC400

First let me start of by saying hello to one and all. This thread is a log of the restoration that is taking place, im sure i will probably end up selling this car in about a year or 2 so everything is here to see. That said I'm new to the Toyota and Lexus community. Not new to foruming or DIY projects. I have always liked the styling of this gen SC aside from the taillights and the rear fenders it is a great looking car. I have a few friends and acquaintances on this site, **** you guys if you find me lol.

The PO I'm assuming bought the car with the intentions of some sort of drift shenanigans and realized the SC400 is not powerful enough for those type maneuvers.(BTW if you want a welded diff hit me up), the interior is definitely rough. The motor and transmission are basically untouched.
Overall plan is just get this car back to a state where it is very presentable again. I am a college student so don't expect it to fly together although progress so far has been swift but its little things that have been fixed.

The run down:
1994 SC400 non vti
Transmission: 350Z 6spd CD009, with unknown noisy clutch
Exterior Color: Unknown.
Interior color: Rainbow.
Heat and A/C:
Entertainment system:
Suspension: poweredbymax CO(shat)

Now that you know that, lets go over the stupid **** i have found so far with this car, i just dont get it these days with **** people try:

-open vac lines near throttle body-i dunno if he noticed that it was open or pulled it off, the motor is running very strong and it is easy to miss so i can let that slide, i've done it before.
-Headlights aimed at the sky-how hard is it to find a the nearest grocery store, use the wall there, get a 8mm socket and a ratchet and adjust the headlights? 9012 bulbs are now in with proper aiming.