The Walrus - 1992 SC300 Black 5-speed

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-18, 12:51 AM
aharlor
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default The Walrus - 1992 SC300 Black 5-speed

Hey All,

First things first, I don't have any kind of extra money to throw at this project, so progress on this build will likely be agonizingly slow. That said, I do have big plans, so it will be interesting to see how far I actually get. My money is on "not very", if I had money to bet that is...

She's called the The Walrus as it's a black SC, and when I'm driving it "I be sailing the black, arrr!" (I'm a dork, I know, but I'm okay with it)

I've never built a car out before, so if you see any mistakes/ignorance please point it out, and help guide me in the right direction. I'm so green I don't even know what I don't know. Also, any numbers are based purely on my initial internet research of what should be possible, and not necessarily hard and fast numbers I have to get to. Overall, my goal is to build a reliable fast car. In other words, if part A gives me 50 HP, but needs to be replaced every 3 years, and part B only gives me 20 HP, but lasts forever, part B is the choice for me. It's a Lexus, it should last forever, and these are the type of parts I would like to use if possible. But again, I am coming from a place of ignorance, so I don't even know what is possible.

I see this being broken into several major phases (which I will open up discussion threads as I get to them to work out the details) and looking something like this:
  1. Mechanical grip:
    1. New rims and tires. Right now I'm thinking Drag DR-48 in 17 x 9 with a +38 offset with 265/40 R17 tires. I believe these should fit with no mods to the fenders. For the tires I'm thinking Nitto Motivo right now, as they seem like the best all weather tires. That said, I am open to suggestions if better options are out there, but I may need to drive in the wet, so all weather is important.