Build Threads Details on Club Lexus 1IS owner vehicles

Form + Function: My IS300 to SXE10 project

Old 03-20-14, 10:23 AM
WanabSXE10
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Form + Function: My IS300 to SXE10 project

Greetings everyone! I figured it was due time to start a project log for my IS. Let me start by giving you a little background of myself seeing as this is my first post. I am a master certified automotive technician with approaching 10 years of experience. I am also a hardcore gearhead and road racing junkie! This is far from my first project car, and I doubt it will be my last. I am currently emploied by the Air Lift Company here in my hometown of Lansing, Michigan. If you haven't heard of us before, check out our webpage Air Lift Performance | Performance Air Suspension Systems. Ok so where to start...

I purchased my 2002 IS300 5 speed with LSD a year and ten days ago after my long time Subaru project decided it wanted to blow another engine. I had that car for 7 years, and in that time I went through 6 engines! Here is the last picture ever taken of her in its prime out at the Woodward Ave meets in Detroit. She spun a bearing 20 minutes after this was taken while just cruising. Mine has the white wheels.

After this devastating loss I decided it was time to move on. A friend of mine had just posted his IS for sale days prior. More back story: I have a deep love for the XE10 chassis. When I was young I used to race R/C cars. My two favorite bodies were my TRD Altezza and my Subaru 22B. Anyway the price was right, so after a quick trip to my loan officer at the bank I was handed this lone key.

Which was for my new, fairly clean, mostly stock IS