Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

CQuartz versus 22ple's VX Pro Glass

Old 05-16-15, 09:16 PM
wayman28
Pit Crew

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default CQuartz versus 22ple's VX Pro Glass

I'm pretty new to this world of detailing. I've been researching coatings and plan on using one on my Lexus instead of wax. Based on the sticky in this forum as well as several posts, I have narrowed my choice down to CQuartz and 22ple's VX Pro Glass (see link here http://www.detailedimage.com/22ple-M...P681/20-ml-S1/).

These two products sound very similar in level of protection but they are very different in price so I'm not sure if there is a difference in protection that I'm not understanding. Can anyone recommend one over the other? Does anyone know why the VX Pro Glass product is so much more expensive than CQuartz?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 05-16-15, 10:38 PM
97-SC300
Lexus Fanatic

Received 128 Likes on 107 Posts

22PLE is a nicer product to use. It has a longer working time, is easier to remove off the paint, and most likely offers better protection than regular CQuartz.

CQ is still very easy to use, but it's noticeably more "grabby" and requires more elbow grease to remove after the recommended curing time. I have noticed that CQ feels alot slicker on the surface after application and removal of the product.

Take this for what it is, but CQ does NOT harden your applicator media (whether it's a suede towel or wax applicator). 22PLE usually turns it rock hard after a day. 22PLE also crystalizes around the threads of the bottle cap, CQ does not. Common sense tells me there is something in 22PLE that actually does give the clearcoat more hardness whereas CQ most likely does not. I may be wrong but this is what I observed. Worked with both products for a while.
Old 05-17-15, 09:18 AM
wayman28
Pit Crew

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts