Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Professional Level Interior Detailing By a Non-Professional DIY guide :)

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-15, 10:59 AM
FSportIS
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Professional Level Interior Detailing By a Non-Professional DIY guide :)

First and foremost, I have been addicted to detailing more and more especially after owning two nice Lexus IS250 and IS350 and after knowing Zach . I have been researching various detailing topics, talked to various professional detailers, watch a bunch of detailing videos (both good and bad) and tested various products (some good and some bad) and techniques (some big failures and some big successes).

I finally create my own way of doing the interior. I'm not a professional detailer by any mean but with an industrial engineering background with process improvement being the focus, I like testing and come up with the best method that works for me. I don't claim this to be the best method out there but it works perfectly for me.

I use various products because I want the best of not both world, but ALL worlds

Warning: This can be an overkill interior detailing but hey, I want to try to take it to the professional level and treat my car with the best I can

Products to PROTECT:
1. Carpro Cquartz Leather & Vinyl Coating.
Even though this is expensive, it claims to last the longest (up to 2 years) with UV protection. It prevents stain, soiling, oil, dye transfer, everything at the extreme level (IMO, the best out there). Yes, I tested it with permanent marker like they show on the Youtube video and it wipes off completely and easily with alcohol.

2. Ultima Interior Guard Plus
It gives a very clean satin look that repels dust, oil, water. It also prevents stain, soiling, dye transfer. This one claims to last 3 months with UV protection as well. It can be used on all interior surface.