Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Scientific question about leaf blowers :)

Old 01-24-15, 08:48 PM
Aeromotive
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Scientific question about leaf blowers :)

Hi all.

I wash my car using ORN (Garry Dean's method) during the winter (and I intend to keep doing it this way during summer) but I'm looking to ditch the waffle weave and use a leaf blower for drying (at the risk of looking strange to the neighbors haha). I found a cheap battery one at WM (I don't have access to an electric outlet).

Question is : is it advisable to use the leaf blower at 0C (32F) to dry the car? I'm worried cold(er) air doesn't dry as much. I'm pretty sure I studied this in college but that was 10 years ago.
Also, does the leaf blower blow ambient temperature air, or does it get warmer in any way when it passes through the machine?
So should I stick to drying with a ww until summer?

Advice? Tips? Comments?
Thanks

Last edited by Aeromotive; 01-24-15 at 09:03 PM.
Old 01-25-15, 11:57 AM
zmcgovern4
Auto Detailing Master

Received 93 Likes on 78 Posts

Blow drying is not too practical when doing rinseless or waterless washes. It is a great option with traditional washing.

I prefer my master blasters to any leaf blower as they blow heated, filtered air and move TONS more air than a leaf blower, however many people get by just fine with a leaf blower.
Old 01-26-15, 12:41 PM
FSportIS
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I have tried leaf blower, and Metro Blaster and not happy with the results because there are still some little droplets of water on the paint that you still need to use a drying towel to follow up. That defeats the purpose of non-touch drying. However, they both work excellent in drying out the wheels, tires, and crevices that you can't reach with a towel. The Metro Blaster is a lot more powerful than leaf blower.