Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Should I PlastiDip My Car?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-14, 11:03 PM
westopill
Intermediate

Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Should I PlastiDip My Car?

So i have a 2000 Lexus ES300. It's color is Black Onyx two-toned with grey on the bottom.Unfortunately the paint has seen better days. The previous owner really burnt through the paint with his rotary polisher which he clearly didn't know how to use. It would look great if it just got repainted, but unfortunately that is something that i cannot afford. I love the way the car looks with black glossy paint, but it's losing its shine. I'm thinking about eventually (in a year or so) plasti dipping it matte white, or two toning it matte white and grey. What do you guys think? Is it worth it since the car is so old? I'm a college student, so i plan on keeping it a while. The guys over at dipyourcar.com have a professional car dipping kit for around $300-400 that's a "Do It Yourself" job. If I end up dipping it, this is where i will buy from. They have some great instructional vids on how to do it. Either way, i think matte white would look fantastic on this car. Matte black would look rather bland i think. Let me know what you guys think.
Old 05-21-14, 10:09 PM
Jetfire
Royale with cheese

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

go for it if it;'s something you're willing to spend money on to try out. Just be careful of application, watch out for overspray and apply thin and evenly in layers to reduce orange peel. Get a paint gun rather than doing it with rattle can.
Old 05-21-14, 10:33 PM
monkey92
Lead Lap

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts