Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Faint scratch

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-14, 10:23 AM
Ashleyd
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Faint scratch

Hello! I'm new to having a lexus and also new to posting on forums. I just has a quick question on how others took care of faint scratches on their car? I live in Chicago and it has kinda sorta been warming up. So i decided to take my car to get a car wash. I know, bad idea. But I just needed a quick wash to get some of the salt off and of course after the car wash there are 2 very faint scratches on my driver and passenger side doors. I don't know if i'm just being ****, but it really bothers me. How should I approach them? Or should I even worry? Thanks for your help in advance!
Old 03-19-14, 10:40 AM
zmcgovern4
Auto Detailing Master

Received 93 Likes on 78 Posts

Automotive paint is incredibly sensitive. The majority of damage actually comes from improper washing and drying. Learning proper washing and drying methods as well as investing in premium products and tools will help minimize the risk of damaging your vehicle and will keep it looking great. Please carefully read this article on Proper Washing and Drying Technique as a good starting point.

**I highly recommend avoiding all automatic washes, especially the type with spinning brushes/material and/or the type that have someone waiting at the end to dry your vehicle**

See my thread & linked article here for more information on Car Wash Damage

If you're in a pinch, a purely touchless wash can be alright if that is your only option, just keep in mind the chemicals used to clean your vehicle are capable of removing or degrading any wax that may be on your vehicle.