Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Major Paint Chips... Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-14, 07:56 PM
westopill
Intermediate

Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Major Paint Chips... Suggestions?

So i bought this Lexus ES300 a few months ago and the paint looks to be pretty neglected, but its in great mechanical shape. I already bought a Dr. ColorChip kit for it that i haven't used yet. I will post some before/after pics of that when i get around to it. Based on the pictures I've posted here, what do you guys suggest that i do to fill in these chips, besides Dr. Colorchip of course.

P.S. - I can't afford to put a clear bra on, or repaint the hood as i am a college student.
Attached Thumbnails Major Paint Chips... Suggestions?-img_0372.jpg   Major Paint Chips... Suggestions?-img_0373.jpg  
Old 03-04-14, 10:36 PM
Greg@DI
Former Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Unfortunately, with that many chips your only perfect solution will be repainting. Dr. Colorchip will do a great job to minimize the look of the chips from 5-10-15 feet away, but even if you spend hours filling, sanding, polishing, etc., I would imagine it's just way too many chips to correct.

I say give Dr. Colorchip a try especially since you already have it and see if you can live with that. Oh and I would also not be investing in a PPF/clear bra with the car in that condition, even if you do fill them all in. You'll still be able to see them enough underneath and probably kick yourself in the butt for not waiting. If you plan on repainting in the future, put some money aside for both the repaint and the PPF/clear bra and get both done at the same time or film soon after painting, when the paint fully cures.

Wish I could be of more help, but sure looks like previous owner just drove it like they stole it and cared little or none about the chips!

Ivan @ DI
Old 03-05-14, 09:08 AM
sydtoosic