Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

When to wax a new car.

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-11, 01:10 PM
smackman
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default When to wax a new car.

When should I wax my new car for the 1st time? I will be using Meguair's Car Care products. Is that okay?

I am a Novice. LOL
Old 07-01-11, 01:29 PM
streetx
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

new as in it just came out the factory?

Usually wait a month or so for fresh new paint before applying any kind of products
Old 07-01-11, 01:29 PM
97-SC300
Lexus Fanatic

Received 128 Likes on 107 Posts

I wouldn't wait. Wash and wax it as soon as you take delivery.

It's common misbelief that you need to let fresh paint cure (true in case of bodyshops and aftermarket paint).... but OEM paint is fully cured by the time it hits the sales floor.
Old 07-01-11, 02:08 PM
smackman
Driver

Originally Posted by 97-SC300

It's common misbelief that you need to let fresh paint cure (true in case of bodyshops and aftermarket paint).... but OEM paint is fully cured by the time it hits the sales floor.
Thanks; I think I will go with the post that has over 4000 post.

I want my car to look good. I have heard Meguair's car products are "good". I have a challenge because my 2011 ISC 250 convertible is black(Obsidian).

The Car kit contains Wash and wax, Micro Fiber Wash Mitt, Water Magnet Microfiber Drying towel

Ultimate liquid wax,soft foam applicator pad, Super Supreme Microfiber Towel

Endurance Tire Gel and another soft foam applicator pad.

I have read and will use the 2 bucket system. I really want to take care of this car personally so any tips on cleaning??

We love our Convertible; This is our 1st Lexus. We owned a 2007 Toyota Avalon before this and traded it in 2010 for a 2011 Ford Taurus limited that really sucked;beautiful Car but not well built at all.