Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

tips on polishing wheels to Mirror finish?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-10, 10:46 PM
vwynn
Lexus Fanatic

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts

BEFORE!

Orbital + Mothers + White pad
Old 05-17-10, 09:46 PM
knguyen
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

WOW nice, what shop did you take them too? How much did they charge you?
Old 05-08-14, 02:07 AM
ThatSCguy
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Talking

Hey I know this is a bit 4 years late but the most assistance you can get to polishing wheels to that shine^^^^^^ would be using a polishing wheel.

from my experience from polishing (I am no professional just a diy-er) aluminum wheels, paint other things you're most definitely going to need a polishing wheel. Specially if you're going from something dull like 600grit sanding. You can't jump from 600grit to hand polishing with mothers because they aren't aggressive enough.

So anyways if you are trying to polish your wheels to shine bare aluminum

Tips:
Some wheels have clear coats depending on the maker (you're gonna have to look that up idk) but per say that it is clear coated you will have to either sand or strip of that coat.

going from 600 grit you are possibly going to have to go up to at least 1500 wet sanding if you want it to be really shiny.

(if you want to just polish the lip) I recommend finding an automatic with the same bolt pattern to make sanding its lip easier. You can jack up the car put on the wheel and put it on drive so it will keep that consistent momentum of spinning without having the need to go around the wheel yourself the wheel will spin at a steady pace and position and you just have to sit there and sand beautifully.