RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Lexus Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-13, 02:04 PM
BXRMOM
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lexus Newbie

I am brand new to Club Lexus, the forums, and being a Lexus owner. I have been a loyal Jeep girl but decided that it was time for a change and took advice from my trusted mechanic and went Lexus. I have a 2010 RX350.

As my handle implies, I have boxers that mean the world to me. I take them everywhere. That being said, I have what may seem a stupid or silly question to some:

Am I able to leave my car running so in winter the heat continues to run or in summer the A/C for the benefit of my dogs, locked (of course), and leave my car with the FOB on my person if I need to run into a store or bank for instance, without the car shutting off? Is there a max distance away if it does shut down when the FOB transits away?

Thanks for any help.
Old 07-09-13, 02:42 PM
BLexodus
Pole Position

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts

I cant speak for certain on the RX, as I'm still shopping for one, but on my IS, it wont let me lock it when the key is not inside.

I have actually driven a few miles down the road without the key, so I dont think that part would be the issue. The issues lies in actually locking the car while keeping the key with you I think.
Old 07-09-13, 02:51 PM
Cruiter

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts