ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

2007 ES350 Battery Problems

Old 12-22-11, 12:42 AM
propjock1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 ES350 Battery Problems

I just purchase my 2007 ES350 last month its a CPO Lexus. I am a pilot and leave the car at the airport for 3-4 days at a time. Twice I have returned to a car with a dead battery. After the second time I took the car back to Lexus and had them inspect it. I am being told that I do not drive the car enough. The service tech said that while the car is parked and shut down it still runs some sort of diagnostic monitoring and this drains the battery. I drive 17 miles from the airport home and 17 miles back. He said that when I leave it at the airport for 3-4 days the battery trickles down and 17 miles is not enough to recharge it. I have a never had this happen before with any of my other cars including a 4runner, jag and a 2011 Honda odessy. This seems ridiculous to me what do you think.
Old 12-22-11, 03:38 AM
garsarno
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Never had happen to my 2007 in the years I i have owned it. I did replace the battery in 10/10 as the original battery was going to be on it's fourth winter and did not want to be stuck in the winter with a dead battery. Maybe yours is the original also.
Old 12-22-11, 05:57 AM
RickC5
Lead Lap

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

I would say your dealer is searching for a (lame) excuse to keep from having to install a new battery. My experience is that most new(er) batteries only last three years or so, and can frequently fail as you described, rather than simply going completely dead due to a shorted call or some other catastrophic reason.

I would lobby hard for a new battery, and if that fails, buy one yourself--the best that you can find.
Old 12-22-11, 10:37 AM
propjock1
Driver School Candidate