Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

How to hook up amp & woofer with stock stereo?

Old 01-18-08, 06:29 PM
EN_VY
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How to hook up amp & woofer with stock stereo?

Does anyone have a DIY guide to hooking up a factory stereo on a 03 gs300
(Non ml/non navi) to an aftermarket amp and woofer, Help would be GREATLY apreciated. I am planning on changing the stereo to a D3 but at the moment I cant.
Old 01-18-08, 08:03 PM
UncleRay
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Disclaimer:
I have given you information to install your audio equipment. I am not a professional, nor have I consulted a professional. You are accepting these steps to install an after market system into your vehicle. I have given all steps to the best of my knowledge. If anything should go wrong in the procedure, I will not be help accountable here on then. Consult a professional before beginning these following steps.

Avanti helped me out with this, so I learned a lot through that =]

!!What you will need!!
For sound system:
Power cable ( 10-20 ft long )
Ground wire ( 1-5 ft long. Thicker the better! )
Speaker wires ( 10-20 ft long )
Remote cable ( 10-20 ft long. Try and find one that's blue. Any size will do )
RCA Wires. ( Red and black, or Red and white. )
High - Low converter ( either best buy, or circuit city. )

Your project:
Rubber sealant.
Socket wrench set.
Razor blade.
OEM fuse adder. You can find this at a local Pep boys for a quick 10-20 dollars.
Electrical tape.
very Thin Phillips Screw Driver
Flat head screw driver
4" wall nails ( home depot )
Wire crimper
Needle nose pliers
Power reader

Make sure your OEM stereo is turned off completely.

Remove the negative, and positive terminals for your battery.

Remove your back seats.

Remove the plastic covering with needle nose pliers. Remove your stereo dash. Not the stereo console, the fury plastic covering your free float.