LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Dash/Radio light replacement

Old 10-24-01, 12:03 AM
A thru C
Driver School Candidate

Location: Roslyn, New York (Long Island) / Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Dash/Radio light replacement

Hello. I'm new to this message board (it's my first, be gentle ;) I have a '90 LS400, I guess fully loaded for the time, minus the CD changer (parents didn't think CD's would catch on, go figure). I like to do small-time mods myself, and my project is as follows: The lights behind the clock and temperature controls went out, and after my Lexus dealership told me it was a $600 replacement, I fooled around and found out it was a 15 minute job with about $20 worth of bulbs to replace... Anyway, that was fine, and everything looks great. My only problem now is that a light behind my radio went out. I ended up soldering a new bulb in place, and it works! However, the wattage on the bulb is too low. I tried buying the similar bulb that Lexus carries to replace the seat heater lights, but it's not nearly as bright. Does anyone know where to find those bulbs so I don't have to buy a new radio to replace these lights? I'd love to completely re-do all the lighting behind my dash (all the green is faded compared to the new bulbs), and I'd appreciate any suggestions on where to find these bulbs. I've tried radioshack and custom electronics stores which sell the bulbs that go behind the seat heater buttons which cost like $.60 each... Help!
Old 10-24-01, 12:27 AM
retrodrive
Search Function Inc.

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I have replaced my dash lights when one of them went out. I used the stock LS '91 bulbs. Although, the lighting is not very bright, I made it Yellow/Orange (Fits much better with my CD player backlight). All you have to do is to take the rubber surround from the bulbs and install them as they are.